6,000 Delegates To Attend PDP October 30 Convention, Govs Emerge As Sub Committees Chairmen

6,000 Delegates To Attend PDP October 30 Convention, Govs Emerge As Sub Committees Chairmen

6000 delegates are expected to converge in Abuja for the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) national convention slated for October 30, 2021 to elect new National Working Committee (NWC) to pilot the affairs of the party.

This is even as Governors Nyesom Wike of Rivers, Udom Emmanuel of Akwa-Ibom and Darius Ishaku of Taraba have emerged as chairmen of sub-committees.

Their emergence took place on Thursday during the inauguration of the party 15 sub- convention committees.

Disclosing this after the inauguration, the Chairman of the National Convention Organizing Committee and Adamawa State Governor, Ahmadu Fintiri also said that the party is gaining new grounds.

See Also  How 5 Trafficked Minors Were Rescued From Sex Brothel in Delta, Many From Patani, Rivers State Brought Out Of Brothel Too

“We are expecting over 6, 000 delegates by our new constitution and we are fully prepared for that. We’re expecting everybody in every ward that is a delegate to attend the convention.

“We are moving on. I am the chairman of the convention committee and you can see that we are doing our work. Everybody is happy and participating. I don’t see any crisis in this party”, he announced.

On which provision of the party’s constitution likely to be amended, Fintiri stressed the importance of allowing the committee to complete its job, saying, “I don’t want to pre-empt anybody’s job.

“The work is segmented into sub-committees. The constitution committee is working, and I will wait for the report to be submitted before I make any comment on it,” he opined.

See Also  Breaking... Trump, First Lady tests positive for COVID-19

Meanwhile, Governor Emmanuel, has emerged as Chairman of Constitutional Amendment and Governor Darius, Chairman of Contact and Mobilisation.

Other appointments as announced by Senator Duoye Diri include Ifeanyi Ugwuanyi, Mohammed Bello Adoke, Ifeanyi Okowa and Solomon Arase as chairmen of  zoning, screening, screening appeal, accreditation and security committees and Governor Wike as Chairman of Special Duties Sub-committee.

Others are Ahmadu Fintiri (Electoral), Godwin Obaseki (publicity), Bala Mohammed (Venue), Mariya Waziri (Welfare and Entertainment), Ibrahim Dankwambo (Transportation), Biodun Olujimi (Protocol), Nuhu (Medical) and Ibrahim Tsauri (Secretariat).

Uche Nwosu is a two time Shell Petroleum PLC award winner in the year 2000;
He won the Shell Award on Investigative Journalism and Environmental Cleanliness.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *