Aftermath Of Defections: PDP Releases Official Timetable for 2021 Congresses In 9 States 

Aftermath Of Defections: PDP Releases Official Timetable for 2021 Congresses In 9 States 

The National Working Committee (NWC) of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) has approved the timetable and schedule of activities for year 2021 party congresses in nine states of the federation.

Congresses have been scheduled to be conducted in Lagos, Oyo, Adamawa, Kebbi, Borno, Kogi, Osun, Kwara and Ebonyi States, a press statement from the party’s headquarters said.

According to the statement, in the case of Lagos, Oyo, Adamawa, Kebbi, Borno, Kogi, Osun and Kwara States, the tenure of the Excos by Section 47(1) of the PDP Constitution (as amended) would be expiring, having been elected in 2017.

 For clarity, the party explained that in Kogi State, congresses are to hold only in Wards and Local Governments, while in Osun, congresses are to hold in some respective Wards only

 However, in the case of Ebonyi, the PDP, by the statement issued by Kola Ologbondiya, its spokesman, stated that congress would be conducted to elect new excos following the dissolution of the state structure due to political realignments occasioned by the defection of the state governors and others to another party.

See Also  Xmas Bliss: Abia Government To Pay Workers 13th Month This December, Says Information Commissioner

 According to the time table, the sale of nomination forms, including ad-hoc delegates’ forms have been scheduled for July 26 to August 27, 2021, while the last day for the submission of forms has been fixed for September 6, 2021. Sales of all forms are from the National Secretariat, it informed.

By the timetable, Ward Congresses to elect Ward excos and three ad-hoc delegates have been scheduled for Saturday, September 25, Local Government Congresses to elect Local Government excos and National Delegates have been fixed for Tuesday, October 5, 2021, while the State Congresses have been scheduled for Saturday, October 16, 2021.

See Also  Self Defence Against Terrorists: Akeredolu Supports Matawalle, State Police

 The NWC urged all members of the party and teeming supporters across the country, particularly in the affected states to be guided by the official timetable and schedule of events and disregard any other document reported to have being earlier circulated by unauthorized persons.

 Meanwhile, the party, pursuant to Section 29(2)(b) of the PDP Constitution 2017 (as amended), has approved the appointment of a caretaker committee to pilot the affairs of the party in Zamfara State.

Members of the Zamfara State Caretaker Committee are as follows; Capt. Umar Bature (Chairman),  Yusuf L. Dambazzau (Secretary), Farouk Shettima Rijiya (Member), Alh. Barmo Abdullahi Kanoma (Member), Alh. Muhammadu Dan Gwamna Gummi (Member), Alhaji. Usamatu Maharazu Marafa (Member).

See Also  Breaking…APC Announces September 4, 2021 As Date For It’s LG Congresses

 Other members are: Bala Mohammed Zurmi, Sani Ahmed Kaura, Medinah Shehu (Woman) And Abba Bello Oando (Youth).

 The caretaker committee, according to the party, is to oversee the affairs of “our party in Zamfara State for a period of not more than 90 days or until when a new state Exco is elected in line with the provisions of the PDP Constitution 2017 (as amended).

 “All party leaders, critical stakeholders, teeming members and supporters of our party in Zamfara State are urged to remain united as we collectively reclaim our stolen governorship mandate and move Zamfara State forward.”

Uche Nwosu is a two time Shell Petroleum PLC award winner in the year 2000;
He won the Shell Award on Investigative Journalism and Environmental Cleanliness.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *